What If

What If

Artist: Jerry Douglas

Not in stockCD
Format: CD
Rel. Date: 08/18/2017
UPC: 888072027084

What If
What If

Artist: Jerry Douglas
1. Cavebop
2. What If
3. 2:19
4. Freemantle
5. The Last Wild Moor
6. Battle Stick
7. Hey Joe
8. Unfolding
9. Butcher Boy
10. Go Ahead and Leave
11. Hot Country 84.5

More Info:

Jerry Douglas, the 14x GRAMMY award winner who has played on over 2,000 separate recordings (Alison Krauss, Mumford & Sons, James Taylor, etc.), presents a new album with a unique sound and a brand-new outfit of musicians, hand-picked by Douglas himself. On What If, Douglas decisively merges jazz inclinations with the bluegrass, country, blues, swing, rock, and soul he's spent his life absorbing and performing, forging a sound that flies beyond the boundaries of anything he - or anyone else - has done before. From the up-tempo combination of what Douglas calls 'bebop jazz and caveman jazz' on 'Cavebop' to the symphonically sweeping title track, What If delves into areas unexplored by any other musician, much less by Dobro! The album also includes a funky, soulful take on Tom Waits' '2:19' and a blistering bluegrass-meets-jam-band reinvention of the classic 'Hey Joe.'